BJP-JD(U) to make seat-sharing announcement today


In the run-up to the upcoming Assembly elections in Bihar, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Janata Dal (United) will make an official announcement on the coalition, seat-sharing and candidates on Tuesday in Patna, according to sources.

The JD(U) will contest on 122 seats while the BJP will fight the election on the remaining 121 seats. The JD(U) with its give five of its seats to Jitan Ram Majhi’s Hindustan Awam Morcha (HAM) and BJP with share and give seats to Mukesh Nishad’s Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP).

Mukesh Nishad, who is also a set designer in Bollywood, said his party will win a chunk of seats and will be crucial for government formation. He exited the Opposition Grand Alliance last week.

After walking out of the NDA in Bihar, Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) president Chirag Paswan on Monday targeted Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and appealed to people against voting for Kumar’s JD(U). Chirag Paswan claimed that an alliance of his party and the BJP will come to power in the state after the Assembly polls.

In an open letter, Chirag Paswan told the voters of Bihar that a vote for the Janata Dal (United) will force the migration of their children tomorrow as he sought their support for his party candidates in the three-phase poll starting October 28.

Earlier on Sunday, the LJP decided to put up its candidates against the JD(U) citing “ideological differences” with the party to assert that it will not accept Kumar’s leadership of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Paswan said, “This is the most decisive moment in the history of the state of Bihar. It is a question of life and death of the 12 crore people of the state and we have no time to lose…. The road ahead is not easy for the LJP but we will fight and win too,” adding all LJP MLAs will work under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Notably, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the principal member of the NDA and it has already announced Kumar as the leader of the bloc in the state.

Talking about “Bihar first, Bihari first” vision document, Paswan said his father would be proud that his son has stuck to the issue he had raised through it.

Bihar Assembly polls will be held in three phases on October 28, November 3 and November 7, while the counting of votes will take place on November 10.

Source link