Adam Zampa replaces Kane Richardson in RCB squad for IPL 2020


Indian skipper Virat Kohli’s white-ball nemesis Adam Zampa has joined Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), the franchise announced. The Australian legspinner is replacing Kane Richardson in their squad. 

Richardson has pulled out of the tournament as he is expecting the birth of his first child, reports state.

RCB on Twitter wrote, “The RCB family is excited for Kane and his wife who are expecting the birth of their first child and respect his decision to pull out of the tournament”.

Zampa’s inclusion will help strengthen RCB’s spin attack which has the likes of Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Moeen Ali and Shahbaz Ahmed.

The Aussie spinner has played for the now-defunct Rising Pune Supergiant (RSP) in the past (2016 and 2017) and featured in 11 matches picking up 19 wickets.

What is more interesting is that Zampa’s record against the RCB captain is terrific as he has dismissed Kohli seven times in limited-overs cricket.

As for the IPL, it is set to begin on September 19, with the final scheduled for November 10.

RCB squad: Virat Kohli (C), Aaron Finch, Devdutt Padikkal, Chris Morris, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Isuru Udana, Moeen Ali, Pavan Deshpande, Pawan Negi, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, AB de Villiers, Josh Philippe, Parthiv Patel, Dale Steyn, Adam Zampa, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Source link